Friday, 20 November 2015

DEADHEAD by Clare Kauter

Social media is fantastic for many reasons. For example, it helps me know what's going on by checking trends on Twitter, I can see my family & friends via Photos on Facebook, and I can drool over amazing pictures of food on Pinterest!

When I first joined Twitter in 2012, it was a brave new world. Many authors talked and shared books (as they do now), but I found it easier to get feedback online. Nowadays, its harder to strike conversations via Twitter, and I have to admit that I prefer Facebook Groups for chat!

However, I have come across many amazing authors & books via Twitter. I would never have thought to read them, or talk to the authors otherwise. Many of the interviews and reviews I have done have been by this informal acquaintance.

I met Clare Kauter the other day after she was the only one to respond to my question on Twitter, asking whether people still downloaded books.

After chatting for a while, I asked her what she wrote and could recommend and she agreed to send me a copy for review. This is the fun - you never know what you'll get! Well, I was in for a treat. The only thing I don't really like for this book is the cover. It could be much more fun - something like Bewitched would work for this!

Enjoy,
Vanessa :)

DEADHEAD by Clare Kauter

This is such a fun read! The voice of the main character, Nessa, is brilliant. The entire books feels like a conversation, flowing naturally and full of surprises.

Basically, Nessa is being investigated for practising magic without a licence (I know, fun huh?) She has to solve the murder of Ed, a ghost who turns up as she is being interrogated. Along she way, she makes friends with a fae, witch, and shifter! 

With awesome powers, she is capable of many feats, which include a private line to the devil (a she of course) and Death (who has an amazing sense of humour). 

We see zombies, vampires, and a lot more... this is a fantastic read if you enjoy quirky humour filled with the supernatural.

Personally, I found it SO original and different to anything I have read recently that I have to award 5 stars.

Tuesday, 17 November 2015

Done! Passed my #Goodreads reading target!

With over a month to spare, I have met my reading target of 100 books via Goodreads...


I only read 58 last year, which explains why I have written half as much! What can I say ... I started as a reader and I love books!

Anyway, the list is long but let's give credit to some of the authors.

Amazingly, I have not given out many 5 stars! I must be getting picky... these are the two books that got my coveted trophy since my last post!


"I think we all need escapism and this book was perfect for me! Definitely 18+ with mature themes and content, but the story-line is fantastic. 

Basically, good girl meets bad boy and they hit it off! We all have a "wicked" animalistic side, and I like to think that when two people share a certain chemistry they can be at one together in every way.

There are a lot of erotica books out there, but good ones need to have a story-line that work and characters that are believable and make you want to root for them. This book has it all.

If you like romance with a bit of spice then read this... I loved it!"

Available *~FREE~* via Amazon

"Wow... I loved the characters, story-line, and ending of this book.

When Zoe meets Jet she is instantly attracted to him, but for a change she challenges him to talk to her. When they do, it sets in motion a chain reaction. They are soul-mates in every way, and have to deal with emotional baggage caused by tragic circumstances.

The way the relationship develops is natural and it did not take long for me to love them both and hope their story had a good ending.

You'll have to read it to find out more. Perfect for readers who love romances with complications.


Can't believe I got this free on a promo. This is the kind of book I would happily pay for."

Available *~FREE~* via Amazon

These books also deserve mention...


All these books are available to purchase via Amazon... click on the links! (Works for any Amazon site, but prices shown on this blog are in pounds at the time of posting).

*~FREE~* as an ebook

SAVING GRACE via Amazon
DEATH BY A HONEY BEE via Amazon
ANGELIC BUSINESS via Amazon
HALFSKIN (The Vignettes) via Amazon

Less than £1 as an ebook

ONLY TIME WILL TELL via Amazon

Less than £5 as an ebook

GONE via Amazon
THE SUNRISE via Amazon
SOUND OF THE TIDE via Amazon
ESCORTED via Amazon
CATALYST via Amazon

This October, I was lucky enough to listen to Victoria at the Isle of Wight literary festival and was so intrigued by the story that I had to buy the book.

The paperback was only £7, which I thought was very reasonable seeing as I also got it signed!
"This story is fascinating and yet terribly sad since it is based on reality. Historical fiction is a fantastic way to connect with issues which we otherwise would be oblivious to. On the basis of the current migrant crisis and the misery faced by people as they strive to reach Europe at the moment, this book is a must read.

It is fiction, interwoven with the stories of several families, but I could relate to the issues on hand and felt truly sorry for characters whose seemingly "perfect" life was torn apart in the conflict affecting Cyprus.

How easy it is for the mighty to fall when war erupts.

I have to admit that I found the beginning confusing to follow since there were a lot of characters, but by a third of the way I was hooked. The ending brought tears to my eyes. Like Victoria said, maybe one day that dream will be a reality.

Highly recommended for fans of historical fiction."

Friday, 9 October 2015

Nicholas Allan, IWLF 2015

Nicholas Allan is the author/ illustrator of over thirty children’s books. 

He has won numerous awards, including several BAFTA’s! His talent was already evident at the age of 12, when he made a galleon out of a walnut shell, which was exhibited in London.

He wrote his first novel when he was 14, a story about a murder in a school. He sent it to a big publisher some of you may have heard of, Macmillan, who, although they did not accept it, asked to see his next!

He has also studied painting at the Slade School of Art, where he had his first radio play broadcasted by BBC Radio 4. Consequently, he completed an MA in Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia.


Nicholas has worked as a waiter, a publisher’s office and even as a part-time teacher of a life class before he published his first book, The Hefty Fairy (1989). 

Since then he has been a full-time writer and illustrator. Many of his books are bestsellers, including The Queen’s Knickers, Father Christmas Needs a Wee, Jesus’ Christmas Party, Cinderella’s Bum, Heaven, and Where Willy Went.

His books have also been translated into twenty languages and he has also authored Hilltop Hospital, a book that has been adapted into a BAFTA-winning television series for CITV.

Find out more about Nicholas via his WEBSITE.

Join him at the Isle of Wight Literary Festival...

Saturday 16th (16:00) & Sunday 17th October (15:00)

Buy your tickets by clicking on the link HERE.

You can find all his books on Amazon.


Visit my Main Blog to find out more about me and how I have been involved with the Isle of Wight Literary Festival so far!

Sara Grant, IWLF 2015


Sara Grant is an American living in the UK. She is a writer of multiple personalities, writing fiction for both children and teens.

In her own words: 

“Inside my head can be a confusing place -- I've got a sparkly magical side and a dark, edgy side too.”

We are very lucky to have her visit the Island since she is a busy lady who has, as a freelance editor of series fiction, worked on twelve different series and edited nearly 100 books (this is a LOT of books). 

She also gives writing workshops in the US, UK and Europe.
 
Visit her website to find out MORE.

 Join Sara at the Isle of Wight Literary Festival...

Sunday 17th October (10:00 & 14:00)

Buy your tickets by clicking on the link HERE.

You can find all her books on Amazon.

She is also on TWITTER.

Visit my Main Blog to find out more about me and how I have been involved with the Isle of Wight Literary Festival so far!

Bridget Marzo, IWLF 2015

Bridget Marzo has an extensive repertoire which include sharing lots of words and pictures about her childhood, her children’s book career working for publishers in different countries, and all she has learnt from teaching for over a decade in a Bauhaus-inspired art school and giving workshops around the world.

I am truly excited to be able to hear about her latest book, TIZ & OTT’S BIG DRAW, which has already received rave reviews and a Kirkus star of exceptional merit.


According to The Observer,


“Adults will derive metaphorical mileage from the story and relish the remedy for a creative block as much as any child: out of a deep hole emerges a rainbow-coloured ladder. A joy of a book – for all ages.”



Join Bridget at the Isle of Wight Literary Festival...

Saturday 16th (15:00)

Buy your tickets by clicking on the link HERE.

Visit my Main Blog to find out more about me and how I have been involved with the Isle of Wight Literary Festival so far!

You can find Bridget on Twitter, and buy her book from Amazon.

Monday, 5 October 2015

Diana Kimpton, IWLF 2015

Diana Kimpton is an author I can relate to and certainly one my daughter (who is horse crazy) will want to see.

In fact, I have read several of her books to my daughter already and I think they're brilliant!

If you visit her website you will find out more about her so CLICK HERE

But, in a nutshell, she has been a teacher, mum, and now writer! Even though, when she was at school she was not convinced about English (this really rings a bell for me). In her own words, "I was already too much a writer at heart to enjoy dissecting other people's stories"I have to say that I loved dissecting stories, but I hated learning about grammar!

I love the range of books this author has written. From picture books, non-fiction, and even a guide for parents to help children with maths! Fantastic.


I am really looking forward to hearing her talk and suggest you check out her books now via Amazon too... Amazon link. You can also look her up on TWITTER.

Join Diana at the Isle of Wight Literary Festival...

Saturday 16th (14:00) & Sunday 17th October (12:00)

Buy your tickets by clicking on the link HERE.

Visit my Main Blog to find out more about me and how I have been involved with the Isle of Wight Literary Festival so far!

Saturday, 3 October 2015

Andrew Weale, IWLF 2015

The first author I am introducing at the Isle of Wight Literary Festival is...

ANDREW WEALE

Andrew Weale has many attributes of which he can be proud of… he gained  scholarship to Oxford University to study Latin & Greek, he set up his own theatre company (which allowed him to travel the world), and he even visits clairvoyants! Lucky this, since this soothsayer told him he would become a writer and he did!

Since then, his imagination has run wild and he has produced several fantastic picture books, and has great fun sharing his love for the art with children and adults alike.

Added to all this, Andrew is a film maker, song writer, web designer and photographer. And he is STILL developing, so ... WATCH OUT! Who knows! Maybe he'll be a ballet dancer next!

Find out more about him by visiting his WEBSITE

Buy his books via RANDOM HOUSE or AMAZON



Join Andrew at the Isle of Wight Literary Festival...

Saturday 16th (10:00) & Sunday 17th October (11:00)

Buy your tickets by clicking on the link HERE.

Visit my Main Blog to find out more about me and how I have been involved with the Isle of Wight Literary Festival so far!

Sunday, 19 July 2015

DANGER AT THATCHAM HALL by Frances Evesham

Since I started this reader blog, I have been surprised by the fact that I have not been inundated by review requests. I am not actively promoting this blog. Mainly, because I barely have time to schedule tweets or be active on Twitter or Facebook. It's so hard to keep up with everything to be honest. However, since I started a new Goodreads group I have been lucky enough to read some great books.

If any of you offer to read to review you should follow through, but if the book is not the right fit for you, then tell the author. I have been sent a few which I started and then realised were not my preference. I always worry that telling the truth will result in an aggressive response. However, so far most writers/ publishers have been great. They prefer you to leave the book and not review.

This is what I do. I only review books I finish and enjoy. What is the point of getting a free book and then ripping it apart?

So... moving on to DANGER AT THATCHAM HALL by Frances Evesham

REVIEW

I was lucky enough to be contacted by the author, and given a copy of this book for review. I really enjoyed it and got immersed in this Victorian world, with a strange death setting the scene for the brief encounter between the two main characters, Nelson and Olivia.

I have been a huge fan of crime fiction in the past (I have a lot of Agatha Christie books!) and had not read a book like it in a long time. Overall, I thought it was a fantastic read. Extremely well-written, with well thought-out characters, and an intriguing plot.

Nelson is an interesting character, who survives a costly war in Afghanistan, where he was one of the few survivors. He carries a few battle scars and resents certain Officers who claim to be war heroes. The truth, as he saw it, was very different with many Officers putting their lives before that of their men. However, he has reinvented himself as a highly sought after lawyer who gets called upon to try to solve some of the issues occurring in Thatcham Hall.

Since I am currently working on a historical novel set in the Victorian era, and have a love of Austen and Bronte, I followed the historic setting and understood the problems that resulted from Officers bad decisions. Even though hard to imagine, history has taught us that those in charge are not always the most knowledgeable!

Even though not mentioned, the Charge of the Light Brigade is a classic film written about the blunders that resulted in the Crimea because of Officers who had no knowledge of battle, made hasty decisions, or for costly mistakes resulting from a lack of communication. (There were no mobile phones you could use with which to abort a mission if it was obvious it would go sour!)

I mention this because his character is important, and the attraction with Olivia is almost blighted by his own misgivings.

Olivia is a strong and intelligent young lady who is a keen musician, but living in a man's world believes she can do no better than get a job as a governess. In those days, a woman's choices were limited! I loved the way her curiousity and better judgement came through in the end!

I would highly recommend this book to readers of crime and Victorian historical novels. Even though their relationship is of interest, I would not call this book a romance novel, but would suggest that if you like some hints of romance and a feel-good ending this is the book for you.

It certainly worked for me!

BLURB

Nelson Roberts, an ambitious new lawyer in Victorian England, trusts no one. Embittered and wounded in the First Afghan War, jilted by his fiancĂ©e, he trusts no one, but jumps at the chance to make a name for himself at Thatcham Hall, convinced he’ll soon solve the riddle of mysterious thefts and violence.

Olivia Martin, headstrong and talented, dreams of a career as a musician. She’ll do anything it takes to avoid a looming miserable fate as a governess.


The pair stumble on a body. Is the farmhand’s death a simple accident, or something more sinister? 

Who attacked the livestock at the Hall and why are the villagers so reluctant to talk? Can Nelson and Olivia overcome their differences and join forces to unravel the web of evil that imperils the Hall?

EXTRACT: 

"Aghast, Olivia slid to a halt, half-lying in the stream. Water seeped into both boots, chilling skin, bone and muscle. Her woollen skirt mushroomed, the dress absorbing moisture until damp fabric outlined every curve of her body.

The stranger watched, eyes widening. Oh! He was staring at her—at her—no, Olivia could hardly even think the words. He could see her—her shape. Shame drove out the chill, reddening her chest, and heightening the dreadful humiliation. Oh, if only the earth would open and swallow her whole! She gulped, strove for words, but none came.

Wait. The stranger wasn’t watching her at all.

His gaze travelled further, coming to rest beyond Olivia. He stared, the knowing smile fading, and Olivia’s insides turned to horrified pulp. What could he see? Something terrible? Slowly, heart hammering inside a tight chest, she twisted, awkward in the flow of water, to peer over one shoulder.

A brown boot, heavy and cracked with wear, wavered in the stream, barely an inch from Olivia’s fingers. She gasped. A swollen leg bulged from the battered leather, the pale stretch of waxen flesh exposed through torn brown trousers. Olivia snatched back her hand, biting the knuckles to stifle a scream.

The man’s body lay on its back, head half-submerged, as the current stroked wisps of black hair across a pale cheek."

In my opinion, the discovery of this body sets the scene for the investigation that brings both Nelson and Olivia together to solve mysterious crimes that have been happening in the village. 


Frances Evesham can’t believe her luck, spending her days writing and collecting grandsons, Victorian trivia and stories of ancestors.

She’s fascinated by the Victorians, especially the women in England, so complex and human, hiding longings, ambitions and repressed passions under society’s stifling conventions. 

Cooking with a glass of wine in one hand and a bunch of chillies in the other, Frances devours books full of mystery, murder and adventure, their pages spattered with olive oil and scented with rosemary and garlic, their spines propped up on piles of lemons and oranges in the kitchen. Writing the Thatcham Hall Mysteries leaves just enough time to enjoy bad jokes and puns, and wish she’d kept on with those piano lessons.

Find out more about Frances via... Her WEBSITETWITTERFACEBOOK

Wednesday, 1 July 2015

Cover Reveal: HOME by Melissa Pearl

HomeBanner  

Home by Melissa Pearl
COVER REVEAL
July 1, 2015

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000446_00063]

Rachel Myers never meant to stay in Payton. Her eyes were set on bigger things than waitressing at Clark’s Bar. She wants to perform on a stage of her own with bright lights, fame, and fortune. But something got in the way—Joshua Clark. He’s a good man who loves her, a solid rock she can depend on. She wants that to be enough, but it hasn’t quelled her yearning for the big city.
Josh knows Rachel wants more out of life and might leave one day. Yet so far, she hasn’t gone anywhere. Deep down, he believes his love is enough to keep her...or at least he hopes so. Until one night, a city boy from Hollywood promises Rachel a record deal and destroys everything.
Jumping at a chance she never thought she’d have, Rachel leaves Payton. And Josh. But the sparkle of Los Angeles is not all it’s cracked up to be, and Rachel quickly figures out that some sacrifices are not worth the risk. Is she too late? Will Josh forgive her, or has her desire for fame ruined the best thing she’s ever had?
Sometimes you have to say goodbye before you can say forever.

ADD IT TO YOUR GOODREADS TBR: http://bit.ly/1GNVp9j

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000446_00063]

~*~ABOUT MELISSA~*~

a041a-melissa

Melissa Pearl was born in Auckland, New Zealand, but has spent much of her life abroad, living in countries such as Jordan, Cyprus and Pakistan... not to mention a nine month road trip around North America with her husband. "Best. Year. Ever!!" She now lives in China with her husband and two sons. She is a trained elementary teacher, but writing is her passion. Since becoming a full time mother she has had the opportunity to pursue this dream and her debut novel hit the internet in November 2011. Since then she has continued to produce a steady stream of books, ranging in genres from Fantasy to Contemporary Romance. She loves the variety and is excited about the books she has coming up in 2015.
"I am passionate about writing. It stirs a fire in my soul that I never knew I had. I want to be the best writer I can possibly be and transport my readers into another world where they can laugh, cry and fall in love."

Friday, 26 June 2015

WHIRLWIND LOVE by Didi Henley

I met the author of this book via Goodreads and agreed to read their book for an honest review. I loved this story, as you find out in my review below.

I truly hope the author succeeds in promoting this story. It's such an easy read, with some frustrating elements - what if? What if? Life is never as straightforward as we hope, and in Libby's case it came with a double-edged sword.

Find out more via Amazon or connect with the author via Twitter.

After 29-year-old Libby Morgan settled her niece, Megan, into college, she’s heading west to fulfill her ten-year-long dream of photographing a hot-air balloon “Freedom Festival” at the Grand Canyon in her parents’ refurbished RV.

No one could have predicted where her road would actually take her.

Disillusioned, 35-year-old Joe King is fed-up with the music business and is looking forward to the end of their two-week state fair tour forced onto him by his ruthless manager. His band, The Brothers King, should be headlining instead of opening. He’s weary of carrying his 31-year-old, irresponsible brother Chuck, who refuses to grow up past a teenage-mentality. The guitar-god's groupies are only too willing to participate in his exploits, so why should he grow up? New management has driven Joe and TBK down, but his need for control might be consumed by his darkness.

Take the journey with Libby across the United States, as she crosses into Joe’s crazy world of music and madness, and see who comes out the other side.

MY REVIEW: 4 Stars

"This was an enjoyable story about a woman, Libby, who has lost a lot in her life and yet is blessed by good fortune. Her acts of kindness and generousity make you instantly like her a lot, and her attraction to musician, Joe, makes for an interesting romance. She is also a redhead so of course I instantly related to her - being one myself!

Their love story is so natural and sweet that I loved the way it progressed. The line between attraction and friendship is beautifully done, and so discrete - refreshing in the currant climate where erotica seems to seep into so many stories that do not warrant it. In this case, the way their relationship evolved worked wonderfully and I have to admit that I cried at the end.

I don't want to give a spoiler, but you should read this book if you enjoy books that tug on the heart-strings.

At times, I wanted a bit more description. This is the reason it did not score a five. Especially, when she sees the balloons. I thought it needed more. Minor thing though."

Sunday, 14 June 2015

Awesome Children's Book

Even though I am British, I love to use this American phrase... OMG! I have been hooked by another book!

My daughter (aged 11) has had this book for a while and it was pretty tattered after her re-reads. But, since we are becoming more and more alike in our reading habits, she told me I should read this one and so I did. 

WOW!

Hooked from the first page, and swallowed up into the story of a "would be princess" and "would be witch" who end up in the wrong schools for good and evil after been kidnapped by the "school master." 

Everything you expect from a fairy tale but twisted into something SO much more. The fight between good and evil has never been more blurred.

After reading Harry Potter years ago, this is the first book that has hooked me in the same way. An incredible read suitable for children & adults alike.

I loved it and thought the characters were so clever and well-developed. 

I did not know who to cheer for along the way. The twists and plot lines are so tense. The rule book has been thrown out with this one.

A well-deserved FIVE stars from me!

Find out more about THE SCHOOL FOR GOOD AND EVIL by Soman Chainani via Goodreads. Also on Twitter.

The first kidnappings happened two hundred years before. Some years it was two boys taken, some years two girls, sometimes one of each. But if at first the choices seemed random, soon the pattern became clear. One was always beautiful and good, the child every parent wanted as their own. The other was homely and odd, an outcast from birth. An opposing pair, plucked from youth and spirited away.

This year, best friends Sophie and Agatha are about to discover where all the lost children go: the fabled School for Good & Evil, where ordinary boys and girls are trained to be fairy tale heroes and villains. As the most beautiful girl in Gavaldon, Sophie has dreamed of being kidnapped into an enchanted world her whole life. With her pink dresses, glass slippers, and devotion to good deeds, she knows she’ll earn top marks at the School for Good and graduate a storybook princess. Meanwhile Agatha, with her shapeless black frocks, wicked pet cat, and dislike of nearly everyone, seems a natural fit for the School for Evil.

But when the two girls are swept into the Endless Woods, they find their fortunes reversed—Sophie’s dumped in the School for Evil to take Uglification, Death Curses, and Henchmen Training, while Agatha finds herself in the School For Good, thrust amongst handsome princes and fair maidens for classes in Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.. But what if the mistake is actually the first clue to discovering who Sophie and Agatha really are…?


The School for Good & Evil is an epic journey into a dazzling new world, where the only way out of a fairy tale is to live through one.

Tuesday, 19 May 2015

Let's Rock & Roll

I have read two books recently that involved Rock Stars! Both very different but worth a read. This is a world I knew nothing about, and I love the fact that books open doors to places I never imagined existed.

My favourite was STORM. Here's why...

"I got this book last night after meeting the author on a Facebook site and started the book straight away! I could not put it down and read  to 62%... 

The main character, Evelyn, is SO funny and the response she gets from Storm is classic! I love her innocence and the fact he brings out the best in her. 

This morning, I finished it immediately and was left satisfied... It all happens too fast in the end, but it works. A sweet love story. The erotica moments in it will keep those looking for a 18+ read happy, but essentially they are discovering each other. I loved the build up and once the relationship intensified a part of me was disappointed! I liked their foreplay!

Overall, a cracking read by a new author. I look forward to reading more of her books. I loved the humour ... Made it less serious than other books in this genre. So glad I found this via Facebook :)"

For a more deep and intense read, I can recommend THE GIRL ON THE HALF SHELL. Read the Author Interview to find out more.

WOW... I am emotionally drained. This book has it all. What an incredible story. 

Chrissie Parker is the daughter of famous rock star, Jack Parker. She is a very confused and traumatised 18-year-old girl, who carries a burden from years earlier. She believes that she had something to do with the death of her brother, Sam, and has self-harmed numerous times to help deal with the guilt that she feels. This is so sad and is portrayed brilliantly in the writing.

She is about to audition at Julliard to become a cellist, like her mother, and heads to New York with her crazy best friend. However, before she does she meets Alan Manzone, a rock star on the brink of disaster, who has been helped back to the road of recovery by Jack for the last few months. The attraction is instant and fate decides to give them a helping hand by cancelling her flight the next day. Alan comes to her rescue and gives her a lift on her private jet to NYC.

Chrissie is out of control and Alan is frankly too old for her (10 years older) but the chemistry that develops between them is unstoppable. I was totally hooked and loved how their story develops. 

There are a few scenes that annoyed me a bit. She has a lot of baths, he washes her a lot, and the sex develops too fast and becomes too extreme considering her limited experience. I would have thought that if Alan truly loved her he would have realised she was really just out of being a school girl. These issues could have been avoided if she’d been in her early twenties, but I understand why it worked better to catch her when most vulnerable. Even so, at times I honestly thought he had pushed the boundaries in the relationship too far.

Saying this, Chrissie acts irrationally a lot. She is not a stereotypical girl. She does not do what you’d expect. I love this about her. We can all act a bit insane at times.

The ending is fantastic. I will not give a spoiler, but it is not what you would usually expect. Chrissie grows up and makes the right decision. Alan has helped her on many levels and it’s wonderful to see so many issues potentially resolved.

Overall, I found the author on Goodreads and asked to review her book! I am SO glad she let me do this and am so lucky to have come across this book. Definitely recommended, but not for those who can’t stand references to ‘Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll!’

Thursday, 14 May 2015

*~New Release & Author Shout-out~*


I started a blog for my love of books and movies in 2012, and then deleted it after a year since I could not cope with so many blogs. Now, the time has come to bring it back. There are a lot of authors and books I want to promote and I think it's easier to give them their own space. We'll see how it all works out.

So, for my first blog post I'd like to give a shout-out to Gary Alan Henson, a US author who I have known for a few years, since he graciously let me use his short stories for Anthologies I published for Charity. In addition, I would also like to mention Kevin Marsh, a UK author I met online.

Thank you for reading. Remember to review the books you read if you enjoy.
All the best,
Vanessa
***~***~***

So, first for a NEW RELEASE by Gary.

Our brave compadres have embarked on another spine-tingling adventure that's fraught with danger in every corner of the Galaxy.

They battle new EUAPs (evil ugly alien predators). What has three legs, three arms, and a tri-faceted face only it's mother could love and we're not sure about her?

There are more dazzling space battles with lasers, particle beams and kitchen sinks being thrown at high speed against overwhelming odds. Has the FTG Triumph met it's match? Why is Jake spinning like a top OUTSIDE the battleship?

There are hopeless conundrums, brave acts of daring-do, strange worlds where small partners must survive and as always lots of just plain FUN!

Join my heroes and their shipmates on the space battleship FTG Triumph as we dive into another adventure with 'Arlo and Jake Lost Partner'.

BUY now via Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, etc...


Software coder by day, story teller by night and as much weekend time as I can.

'Genome' is my first completed novel and I'm working on a humorous SciFi series called 'Arlo and Jake'.

I live in beautiful north central Texas with my lovely wife Debbie.


I raise a glass of Texas Red in your general direction!



***~***~***

Now, for some fiction by Kevin Marsh...

England 50 BC - A Celtic symbol of power and wealth, a Torc wrought from white gold, a trophy for a king. Luain Mac Lanis, warrior turned metal smith, is commissioned to make a magnificent Torc, but he knows nothing of the curse surrounding the strange metal. The only way to lift the curse is to offer the Torc to the Gods in a sacrificial ceremony. 

Two thousand years later the Torc is listed on the inventory of a sunken ship. Dr Orlagh Gairne, a leading archaeologist, is sent to work with Jack Harrington and his crew of salvage experts. It's Orlagh's job to identify the Torc and ensure its safe delivery to the National Museum, but the operation is not as straightforward as expected. Aided by his team of mercenaries and an historical expert, Jack unearths a wave of hatred spreading across Europe. 

With the past weaving tightly with the present, they must infiltrate the terrorists' lair in order to prevent a worldwide catastrophe.

BUY now via Amazon

Twelve months has passed since the traumatic events that almost claimed her life and Dr Orlagh Gairne is looking forward to a well-earned holiday. With her partner, Jerry, they jet off for the Aegean coast where they plan to make the most of the Mediterranean sun and visit the ancient sites of Anatolia.

The Phoenix Legion, still reeling from a humiliating defeat, have re-grouped and are now planning the next phase of their quest. They are in possession of the Belgae Torc, but this is not enough to ensure total power so they must rely on the druids and their connection with the spirit world.
Whilst searching for treasure in the Sea of Azov, Jack Harrington and his team make an unexpected discovery and with the past merging with the present are unable to avoid being drawn in to another deadly battle.

The Belgae Torc, Jack Harrington and The Phoenix Legion are far from her thoughts, but as Orlagh enjoys her holiday with the man she loves, these forces come together. Will she manage to avoid another conflict or will she become a victim of circumstances that are beyond her control?

BUY now via Amazon

Landscape artist Josie MacDonald is coming to the end of her stay in Scotland. Whilst out on a painting trip early one morning she witnesses a horrific murder. Mr Mac, the deranged killer, is aware that she has seen him at work and sets out to kill her but Josie manages to escape by plunging desperately into the North Sea. 

Mr Mac, convinced that she has perished, discovers a few days later that she has survived and sets out to track her down. He follows her to London where he subjects her to terrible psychological torment as one by one her friends are drawn into the nightmare. Josie returns to Scotland in order to discover the truth where her worst fears are realised. With time running out and a killer on the loose she must survive long enough to bring their horrifying ordeal to an end.

BUY now via Amazon

Kevin Marsh was born in Canterbury, Kent in 1961. He lived and went to school there before attending the Technical College, (now Canterbury College), as an apprentice sheet metal worker. During his five years of training he worked in a small local company with his father and brother. In 1981 he was married and moved to Whitstable, (his father's home town).

He currently works in further education teaching steel fabrication and welding whilst writing novels and painting in his spare time. His first published novel, The Belgae Torc, was launched on 30th June 2012 and his second book, The Witness, published in March 2013. The second novel in the Torc Trilogy, The Gordian Knot, was published in July 2014.

Web address:- www.kevinmarshnovels.co.uk